Can I delete an exam?
When you delete an exam, it can cause issues for students. If you delete the exam then: (1) student's exam appointments are automatically cancelled; (2) students have to begin the exam appointment process over, which can be particularly challenging if your exam is scheduled for the peak of finals (proctoring locations fill up quickly during finals); and (3) some proctors charge fees, which must be paid at the time the appointment is made - this means you will likely now need to reach out to proctors on behalf of your students in order to request refunds.
If you still need to delete an exam then it is recommended you send a message out to your class beforehand. The reason: If you delete your exam then their exam appointments will automatically be purged from the student's exam appointment page. Naturally, this will create upset.
NOTE: Unfortunately, UNC Online cannot access the exam appointments that were purged as a result of deleting the exam. It would be up to each student to reference their records of the original exam appointment.