Deleting Exam & Duplicate Exam
Deleting an Exam:
Deleting an exam can cause issues for students:
- Student's exam appointments are automatically cancelled and purged from UNC Online.
- Unfortunately, UNC Online cannot access exam appointments that were purged, as a result of deleting the exam.
- It is up to each student to reference the system-generated email that was sent regarding their original exam appointment.
- Proctors are not able to "save" the student's cancelled appointment spot.
- Students must begin the exam appointment process over, which can be particularly challenging:
- If your exam is scheduled for the peak of finals
- Proctoring locations fill up quickly during finals
- Some proctors charge pre-paid fees
- Plan to work with the students and proctors to ensure students receive refunds.
NOTE: Before you delete the exam, it is recommended you send a message out to your exam roster so they are aware of the above.
Sometimes instructors attempt to mitigate issues by creating a duplicate exam in UNCO. If you create a duplicate exam then this can be problematic for several reasons.
- Students may attempt to schedule appointments for all of the exams you create and attempt to take the exam more than once.
- Students may attempt to schedule appointments for all of the exams you create and strain valuable proctoring resources.
- Students might pay for multiple final exam appointments.
- UNCO will send automated scheduling reminders for all of the exams you create. Therefore, even though students only need to schedule one exam appointment, for example, they will receive automated reminders to schedule appointments for the other exams you create.